Christmas Gift design: Carley’s Gift Tote bar

Standard

20131221-195920.jpg

Ok, what a busy time Christmas time is. As a teacher, the end of year is so busy that I don’t have time to breathe. I wanted to kill two birds with one stone so to speak. Continue to learn to sew as well as gift Christmas gifts. So I thought what do most people love. My first thought was relaxing. So “Carley’s Gift Tote bar” was born. Firstly I learnt to sew a mini book tote. I used the tutorial listed below. Except I placed gifts in it.

http://www.u-createcrafts.com/2013/06/mini-book-tote-tutorial-by-crazy-little.html

Then I sewed and sewed until I had about fifteen designs. Next I learnt to sew a sunglasses case. The tutorial that I used was amazing. Here’s the link: http://www.createcraftlove.com/2012/05/stitched-sunglasses-case.html

I am finding it easier to learn to sew by doing one project over and over. This way I am learning from my mistakes!

Then, what do most people like to use when relaxing: hot & cold packs. This one was trick as there were so any tutorials out there. So I simply traced a pattern shape, drew a 1 cm border and stitched it around three sides. After flipping it, ironing it and filling it with rice I added two drops of essential lavender oil.

Lastly I repeated the same process for the heat packs. I simply added labels & ribbon and behold….Carley’s Gift Tote Bar!!

20131219-180026.jpg

20131219-184658.jpg

20131219-184758.jpg

20131219-184810.jpg

20131219-184834.jpg

Then I lined all of the bags, heat packs & sunnies cases up. People had a ball picking which designs they wanted to include in their gift pack.

20131219-185827.jpg

Leave a Reply

